Flinders Quartet with SIPCA Finalist

String Quartet and Piano

Flinders Quartet

Dmitry Onishchenko

Another Musica Viva supported concert, the acclaimed Flinders Quartet will appear in concert with their chosen finalist from the 2012 Sydney International Piano Competition of Australia (SIPCA).

Dmitry Onishchenko was announced as the winner of the Flinders Quartet Prize. Hand-picked by Flinders Quartet from the impressive group of international finalists, Onishchenko will return to Australia in May 2013 to undertake a chamber music tour with the quartet, including performances at the celebrated Melbourne Recital Centre and the iconic Sydney Opera House. Onishchenko has been a favourite of the SIPCA audience over the course of the competition, and Flinders Quartet looks forward to giving the public another opportunity to hear him in action on the concert stage.

The twenty-nine year old from Lviv, Ukraine, graduated from the Lviv Special Music School in 2000 and has since studied at the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory, the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, and at the Hochschule für Musik in Hannover, Germany. Dmitry has performed throughout Europe, as well as in Great Britain and the USA, and has won competition prizes in Portugal, Ukraine, Japan, the Netherlands, Russia, and now, Australia.

Flinders Quartet is regularly invited to play at Australia’s major festivals and music societies with engagements in the Melbourne International Arts Festival, Huntington Estate Music Festival, Bangalow Festival, Port Fairy Spring Music Festival, Tyalgum Festival, Four Winds Festival, and Utzon Room Series. Flinders is active in commissioning and premiering new Australian works, mentoring younger musicians in a variety of organisations and institutions (Australian Youth Orchestra and the University of Melbourne) and collaborating in performances and on recordings with some of Australia’s finest talents.

A quartet for the twenty-first century, Flinders continues their second decade with acknowledged musical skill and maturity, and is a highly respected force in Australian chamber music. The winner of the Sydney International Piano Competition ‘Flinders Quartet Prize’ is finalist, Dmitry Onishchenko. Dmitry stunned audiences in Sydney with his arresting technique and thought-provoking interpretations. Flinders are thrilled to welcome him to the stage for the emotional power of Shostakovich’s piano quintet, preceded by Ravel’s luminescent string quartet in F major and Ian Munro’s Divertissement sur le nom d’Erik Satie.


Munro Divertissement sur le nom d’Erik Satie

Ravel String Quartet in F major

Shostakovich Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57


Musica Viva Countrywide

Australia Council for the Arts

NSW Government Trade & Investment Arts NSW